Fractions for Five Year Olds

April 27, 2014 § Leave a comment

The new National Curriculum will soon be sailing in to schools this September. It is set to make quite a difference and it’s exciting to see whether it will be a success.

One of the biggest changes is the step-up in terms of introducing topics much earlier than before. Now, your 5-year olds will be learning simple fractions, such as halves and quarters. This may sound crazy! But, don’t forget that the younger they are, the more they are able to learn and absorb.

The Department for Education has had the new curriculum published on their website for quite some time . . . . and it looks like the kids (and the poor teachers!) are going to be packing a lot in! These links show the new primary curriculum for maths and English – it shows you the topics that are going to be covered in each year group:

Primary Maths Curriculum From 2014

Primary English Curriculum From 2014

And, if you want a heads-up on simple fraction work, we’ve got it covered: How To Do Fractions


What Do National Curriculum Levels Mean?

November 22, 2010 § Leave a comment

Here in the UK, the educational system is managed by a series of national curriculum levels. Unfortunately, they can often be very confusing, with numbers and letters all over the place! However, it is important to have an understanding of them in order to judge your child’s progress. There are 8 main levels, then they are followed by the letters a, b or c. But what do the letters in national curriculum levels mean?

c – this is to show that a child has only just started to work at this level, so has yet to grasp all of the concepts contained within that level
b – this means that a child is working comfortably within the level
a – this indicates that a child has reached the top of the level and is ready to move on to the next level

The next question is how to know when a child is working at the correct level. Often, parents know their child’s levels but they don’t know whether this means they are average, above average or below average. The basic rules in the Key Stage 2 National Curriculum Levels are:

By the end of Year 2 – A child should be at a level 2 in order to be in the average band
By the end of Year 3 – A child should be working somewhere between level 2a and 3b in order to be in the average band
By the end of Year 4 – A child should be working at a level 3 in order to be in the average band
By the end of Year 5 – A child should be somewhere between level 3b and 4c in order to be average
By the end of Year 6 – A child should be working at level 4 in order to be in the average band
A child who gets a level 7 at the end of Year 9 is often projected to get a Grade C in their GCSEs, but of course this will vary.

How many levels should a child be progressing by each year? Well, the target set is to go up a whole level every 2 years, so each year your child should be progressing by 1.5 sublevels.

When it comes to maths, the national curriculum is separated into different teaching attainments:

Attainment 2: This is the section called Number & Algebra, which covers operations and problem solving
Attainment 3: This section is Shape, Space and Measure, which covers topics such as area, volume and time
Attainment 4: This section starts at Key Stage 2 and is called Handling Data. It includes graphs and charts

For further information on maths curriculum levels, go to: National Curriculum Website

Where Am I?

You are currently browsing entries tagged with National Curriculum at Maths Star.